I don’t know what’s worse
Whether it is that I don’t remember what it is that got us here in the first place
Or that I wish you could just end it already
Or that I actually still have hope that we can survive this…

I don’t know what else to do
After I have pleaded and poured out my heart to you
There is nothing left to say that could possibly be true in attempts to convince you
So I prayed
I prayed until all the words I could utter were “Please, God!”
I cried myself to sleep and dreamt of you
My dreams of us deceived me into believing that my cries for mercy had been heard
But I woke up to the reality that we’re still bent
I determined within myself that I wouldn’t give up without at least trying to fix us
But it seems that the more I try
I increase the chances of breaking us
Because, you see, we must want to become better
Not just me…

So this is my final plea
Now that the worst has happened
See, nothing could hurt more than knowing that you are there but not here with me
Knowing that I have you but I don’t know how much longer I’ll get to…
Now here is my plea,
Please don’t prolong ending us if you have already decided that we’re not worth saving
And if we are,
Breathe life into us before it is too late.
Love, like other major life decisions, remains a choice that no one else can make for you…

And if this is the last poem I will ever get to write to you,
I may as well end it with a note that I have been meaning to send to you:

“Good morning Love…

We tried. And that’s what counts. I wish you nothing but the best for your future in ministry, business, politics and all your other endeavours. I know that you will make an amazing husband to someone one day. Sadly, I’m not that someone… I hope that this doesn’t end our friendship as well. It would be a pity to lose you altogether. I love you. Bye Baby.”

Leave a Reply

