This is why I Love You

I love you,
Mostly because I love me
The me that I met through meeting you…
Because see, you introduce me to myself

You allow me to shine forth my beauty
You encourage my heart to love and care for those around me
You urge me to relate
You introduce me to a happy and nurturing me…

You challenge me
You push me over the edge so that I can have no more excuses but to fly
And then you take my hand and sour with me
You introduce me to a courageous and bold me

And then you challenge me
You push the buttons I never knew I had
You introduce me to the hurt parts of me that never really healed
You introduce me to the sharp parts of me that are cutting at me as I try to conceal them
You introduce me to a me that needs to grow past her pains and disappointments

You excite me
You show me a world of joy and peace beyond understanding
You aid me to see that growth is an exciting journey that no one can take for me
And then you offer to walk with me through it…
You introduce me to a me that knows how to relax and trust

You introduce me to my flaws and shortcomings
And then you me while I work and pray through them…
You introduce me to a beautiful me
And then you love and appreciate me for it.
You introduce me to the me of my dreams
And then you love me enough to allow room to live out her dreams…
You introduce me to an imperfect me,
And you love me with and through it all…

You introduce me to myself
To a me that I’m learning to love
And as I continue to learn to love myself
I am learning to love you more and more…
I love you
Because
I love how knowing you introduces me to who I am

Miss K.D Mashile

Leave a Reply

