Dear Black Man

Dear Black Man,
Thank you.

Thank you for showing me my worth
Thank you for showing me unconditional love
Love that doesn’t say that
“At least you’re pretty decent,”
Or, plain old “pretty, for a black girl”
Thank you for teaching me that being black is an inheritance that you blessed me with
And that it is okay to be proudly black
Without worrying about who might find it uncomfortable

Dear Black Man,
Thank you.

Thank you for my dark skin and thick hair
Thank you for my curved hips and thick thighs
Thank you for my full lips and beautifully carved nose
Thank you for my creatively flexible tongue
Thank you for everything that makes me black
For it is an inheritance that you blessed me with
That no one can ever take away from me
And one that no plastic surgeon can duplicate even with the help of modern technology

Dear Black Man,
Thank you.

Thank you for all the times you weren’t there.
Thank you for being so selfless that you sacrificed our relationship to provide for me so that I can live to build many other relationships
Thank you for the life that your sacrifices have afforded me
Thank you for giving up your hopes and dreams and settling for a job that would allow me the opportunity to hope and dream of a better future
Thank you for taking disrespect when you deserved the most respect in the world just so that I can have a taste of the so-called right to human dignity

Dear Black Man,
I am who and what I am because of you
I owe you my very name!
I appreciate you
And I love and respect you.
You are my truest hero!

Dearest Black King,
Thank You!

Love,
Your Beautiful Black Princess going on Queen

Leave a Reply

