The Vow

Dear Future Partner,

I will not promise you heaven and earth as my life therein is only by Grace, without which I would deserve death in both.
I will not promise you forever and always when my tomorrow remains an uncertainty.
I will not promise you that I will heal your scars and mend your broken heart, for as much as I’d like to do that, I do not have such abilities within me.
I will not promise to make you happy as your happiness will forever remain a choice only you can make.
I will not promise to strengthen you when you get weary when I barely have the strength to wake some mornings.
I will not promise to carry your burdens for you, or even to help you carry them, when I can barely carry my own.
I will not promise to fight your battles for you when I could never fight my own.
Basically, I will not promise to solve your problems when I am unable to solve my own…

See, I do not want to make promises I could never keep even if I wanted to. So rather,

I promise to pray for you that you may believe in Christ so that you can have life in abundance both on earth and in heaven.
I promise to cherish each moment with you and to let our tomorrow worry about itself.
I promise to pray to The Lord my Healer to heal your scars and mend your broken heart – for only He can do that for you.
I promise to let the everlasting joy of the Lord to overflow in me so that it can rub off on you and,
I promise to pray for that joy to be your strength — for it will never run out.
I promise to encourage you to trade your burdens for His yoke that is easy and His burden that is light – which you will be able to carry by grace.
I promise to always remind you to seek Him in every situation and see His greatness above all circumstances.
I also promise to invite the mighty warrior, the one who is great in battle, He who makes you more than a conqueror to fight your battles for you — for His victory is guaranteed.
And lastly, I promise to be the best me I can be and to stand back and let God handle the rest.

These promises are my vow to you, which I know I can keep the grace of God. So I ask you not to promise me anything that – regardless of your willingness – you can never fulfill.

All my Love,
Kay-Dee Mashile.

Leave a Reply

