I want a man…

I want a man who defines himself as a true disciple of Christ:

A man who loves God with all his mind, body and soul;
A man who loves God more than he loves himself.

I want a man who will know when to say what and when to silently hold me in his arms…
I want a man who will love me like he loves himself.

I want a man who will pray for me and with me…
The kind of man who is not afraid to cry with me or before me…
A man who is so secure in himself that he trusts and is honest with me about absolutely everything!

See, this man of mine
He doesn’t have to look like Trey Songz or sing like John Legend…
He doesn’t have to be as strong at The Rock or be famous like Will Smith…
He doesn’t have to drive a BMW sports car or have lots of money…

I want a man who’s manner and kindness far surpass all earthly riches…
I want a man who’s smile makes my world alright…
I want a man who idolizes and strives to be like Christ…
I want a man who walks in integrity and honor;
A man who respects young and old alike…
A man who’s strength is the joy of the Lord…

He doesn’t have to open doors for me
He doesn’t have to buy me flowers
He doesn’t have to take me to the movies
But the kind of man I want won’t do things because he has to;
He does things to show me his love and care…
He does things because he wants to show me that he appreciates me…

And if I ever find him,
I promise to cherish and respect him.
I promise to support and advice him.
I promise to be the most suitable helper in every given situation…
But above all that, I promise to love and pray for him each and every day!

• Kay-Dee Mashile

2 thoughts on “I want a man…

  1. Lihle Nkuna says:

    I am awfully impressed by your ‘biblical wisdom’. mainly of how it reflects in this piece of writing.
    I think ‘your man’ is out there.
    I think your standards are perfectly situated.
    believe it or not, I think this is very realistic.
    # God _ bless.

Leave a Reply

