How can this be?

How can it be that just yesterday I was playing with a doll named Jessica but today here I am blushing permanently as though my chicks were painted red like Jessica’s?

How can it be that just yesterday I’d sit with my mom and talk about how another girl was acting to stupidly at school because she says she’s ‘in love’ and today I’m the one acting as though I lost my mind telling my mom how I’m in… strong-like?

How can it be that last year this time my mom was saying to me “you should tell us when you meet someone” and I replied “I doubt that it’ll ever happen” but yet today I anxiously announced to my mom that I did meet someone?

How can it be that I was always the one friend that was there to listen to her friends go on and on about this and that guy yet today here I am writing endlessly about this guy? And as it seems talking about him non-stop with giggled punctuations?

How can it be that it is not a month ago that we met yet I cannot remember what I used to do with my spare time before I met you?

How can it be that it takes me 30 minutes to an hour to decide what to wear but when we first spoke I subconsciously decided that I liked you?

How can it be that I have not even really acknowledged your presence in my life yet I miss you when you spend the whole day at the mission house? :)*

How can it be that just a month ago I could never allow myself to trust – even myself – with matters of the heart but I have managed to trust you entirely with my heart in not more than three weeks?

How can it be that we just met yet you make me this happy?

How can it be that I like you this much? Isn’t it weird??? Almost surreal – yet it is too good not to be real!

Well, I don’t know how it can be! I just know that it is so, so now that I did say, now what?

Signed,
Kay-Dee Mashile

One thought on “How can this be?

Leave a Reply

